Pre-auth

Temporary authorization holds

When you make a trip request, Central Cars may need to verify your payment method by issuing a temporary authorization hold from your bank. (This is not a payment at this stage)

This temporary authorization hold request is made on the payment method associated with your account.

The temporary debit amount is usually the upfront fare for the ride that we quoted in the app plus a BUFFER to anticipate any slight changes in the route etc. However you will only be charged what is on the drivers meter at the end of the journey, the authorization hold is converted to a charge. If the trip is cancelled, the authorization hold will be quickly voided by Central Cars.

 

IF THIS IS ONLY A HOLD, WHY WAS I CHARGED TWICE?

Once the ride is complete, Central cancels the authorization hold.

If you review the transaction, you will see that the authorization hold remains on hold and then disappears from your account within hours/days.

For example, if you add a tip to the driver at the end of the trip, you may see two lines: an amount without the tip (for which you will not be charged) and an amount that includes the tip (the actual amount you’ll be charged for).

Similarly, if the trip is significantly longer than initially announced, and the amount of the trip is recalculated, it is possible that the initial fare appears on your statement in addition to the final amount actually charged.

WHY DO I HAVE AN AUTHORIZATION HOLD WHEN MY TRIP WAS CANCELLED?

When you order a trip and it is cancelled by you or the driver, the system can issue an authorization hold for the upfront fare announced at the time of the order.

Similarly, if several cancelled orders follow each other, the system can issue one authorization hold per order, causing several simultaneous amounts to appear on your statement.

HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE FOR THE AUTHORIZATION HOLD TO BE REVERSED?

Central Cars cancels the authorization hold as soon as the journey ends. It usually takes 3-5 business days for this to disappear from your account depending on the processing speed of your bank.

WHY DID I GET A NOTIFICATION FROM MY BANK?

Some banks may send a text or other notification that an authorization hold has been applied to your account. This is completely normal and may happen either when you request a ride or afterwards.

HOW CAN I SEE WHAT I WAS ACTUALLY CHARGED?

Check the “My Trips” section in the Central Cars app at any time to see the receipt for your past rides. The amount and payment method used for each Journey are listed.